What is CETL?

The Elgin Community College Center for Enhancement of Teaching & Learning (CETL) offers guidance, support, and resources on teaching and professional development to all faculty at ECC.

CETL's purpose is to support faculty in being an inquisitive and reflective community of teachers dedicated to creating learner-centered education for all of our students. CETL facilitates programming, such as workshops and new faculty orientation, for faculty to learn about and discuss varied pedagogical approaches and to learn from colleagues' experience and expertise. Additionally, CETL offers one-on-one assistance on any aspect of teaching and faculty professionalization and can direct faculty to learn about instructional technologies through the Instructional Improvement and Distance Learning office.

CETL Goals

  • Facilitate learning experiences for faculty to engage with innovative, research-based teaching practices.
  • Create opportunities for faculty to come together to share teaching experiences and expertise.
  • Provide orientation and instructional support to new faculty.


CETL Director

Dr. Tyler Roeger has taught literature (including Antebellum Literature, Science Fiction, and other topics) and composition (including First-Year Writing, Developmental Writing, ESL Writing, Business and Professional Writing, Advanced Research Writing, and other topics) in a variety of college settings. Additionally, he has facilitated campus-wide assessment efforts and faculty development at varied institutions. He has published articles on topics such as assessment in arts disciplines, Edgar Allan Poe, detective fiction, and contemporary haunted house movies. His particular teaching interests include student reflection, experiential learning, and culturally sustaining pedagogies, among other topics.

CETL Advisory Committee


The CETL Advisory Committee, comprised of faculty and administrators, meets monthly to discuss and provide feedback on CETL initiatives and programming. The committee's purpose is to provide input and give direction to varied aspects of CETL.

Committee Members (AY19-20)

  • Nancy Chahino, Perkins Grant Administrator
  • Soma Chattopadhyay, Instructor of Engineering
  • Jim Dittus, Professor II of Communication Studies
  • Tina Leverenzzi, Professor II of Graphic Design
  • Tim Moore, Associate Dean of Instructional Improvement and Distance Learning
  • Mary Perkins, Dean of College Transitions and Secondary Partnerships
  • Tammy Ray, Instructional Technology and Distance Learning Coordinator IV
  • Stacey Shah, Associate Professor II and Distance Learning Librarian
  • Colleen Stribling, Associate Professor II of English as a Second Language
  • Lisa Wiehle, Manager of Outcomes Assessment